FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Currently insured?

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

DUI Insurance Laws for Tennessee

Here's what you need to know...
  • The victims of drunk drivers can suffer property losses, injuries, and even death
  • Drunk drivers face jail time, higher costs of car insurance, and the possible loss of driving privileges
  • Tennessee has specific laws concerning driving under the influence
Driving under the influence is a serious crime that can have long-term consequences for everyone involved.

States all across the nation have stiffened their drunk driving laws and with good reason.

Compare state car insurance by entering your ZIP code at the top of this page now!

Drunk Driving Defined

Woman breathing into a breathalyzer

Drunk driving is determined by the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of the driver at the time of an incident.

The BAC represents the percentage indicating what actual proportion of a person’s blood is alcohol.

Research has shown that a BAC as low as .04 can seriously affect eye-hand coordination and decision-making processes in the brain.

In recent years, many states have lowered the BAC limit a driver must have to be considered legally impaired.

In Tennessee, if someone has a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher while driving, they will be charged with driving under the influence.

Implied Consent

In Tennessee, if a driver is driving a vehicle on a public road, the law states that he has given his implied consent to be tested for impairment.

Therefore, if a law enforcement officer observes driving behavior that he suspects is caused by alcohol impairment, he can pull the driver over and administer tests to determine the driver’s BAC.

An officer may chose to administer a breath test for blood alcohol levels, a blood test, or a urine test.

Refusal to submit to this testing is sufficient grounds for being charged with a crime and could be grounds for the suspense or revocation of a person’s driver’s license.

Types of Offenses

AdobeStock_90605017-1600x1600

Tennessee recognizes different levels of culpability when driving under the influence.

The severity of the crime is judged by the number of repeat offenses, the blood-alcohol level of the offender, and whether there were injuries, deaths, or property loss caused by the incident.

Offenders are divided into three categories.

Each category has its own definition and penalties:

  • First Time Offender – Jail-time from 48 hours to 11 months, 29 days, license revocation, mandatory participation in DUI school, and a $350 to $1,500 fine
  • Second Time DUI Offender – 45 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail, a mandatory fine of $600 to $3,500, driver’s vehicle may also be subject to seizure, and he will be ordered to attend DUI school
  • Third Time DUI Offender – 120 days to 11 months, 29 days of jail time, $1,100 to $10,000 in mandatory fines, and a three to 10-year loss of license, with no restricted license available.
  • Fourth and Subsequent Offender – Class E Felony, serve a year in jail with a minimum of 150 of those days served consecutively, a $3,000 to $15,000 mandatory fine, as well as the permanent loss of his vehicle and the loss of his driver’s license for five years.

Special Circumstances

Crimes involving certain special circumstances are treated differently than other DUI convictions.

These include:

  • Vehicular Assault – Class D Felony and can lead to license revocation of up to 5 years; face jail time ranging from two to 12 years, as well as fines and court costs
  • Child Endangerment – Class D Felony and carries the possible penalty of two to four years jail time. If a child involved dies, this offense becomes a Class C Felony and jail time increases to three to six years
  • Vehicular Homicide Class B Felony and includes a fatality. The drunk driver’s license will be revoked for three to 10 years. No restricted license is available for those convicted of vehicular homicide

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

New Laws

Tennessee passed a new law requiring people convicted of driving under the influence to have vehicle ignition interlock devices installed in their cars.

An ignition interlock is a device that is connected to a car’s ignition system that will not allow the car to start unless the driver’s blood alcohol levels are in the safe range.

The BAC level is measured by a breath-alcohol analyzer. If it detects unsafe levels of alcohol, it will prevent the car from starting.

Even first-time offenders may be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed and all drivers must pay the costs themselves.

The cost of having an ignition interlock device in a car for a single year can exceed $800.

Insurance Requirements

AdobeStock_83230289-1600x1600

Special insurance is required by the state of Tennessee after a DUI conviction.

Called SR-22 insurance, this is high-risk insurance and is required for the three years following a drunk driving conviction.

SR-22 insurance can be very expensive.

Car insurance companies know that drivers needing this coverage are a high-risk group and will charge more to cover their financial risk.

Shopping for Insurance

Drivers with a past record of DUI would be well advised to comparison shop when looking for insurance.

The increase in premiums that insurance companies levy for DUI convictions vary wildly.

Comparison shopping is the only way to find the best car insurance deal.

While a drunk driving arrest can be financially painful as well as embarrassing, it is not the end of the world.

Compare auto rates by entering your ZIP code into the FREE tool at the bottom of this page!

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · Car Insurance Comparison · Terms & Conditions · About Us · Privacy Policy · Contact Us · Site Map · Resources

Currently insured?