FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Currently insured?

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

Rhode Island Car Insurance

Here's what you need to know...
  • Rhode Island requires liability insurance for drivers
  • They also require uninsured/underinsured motorist protection for drivers
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist protection will keep your assets safe from other drivers that do not have sufficient insurance
What are the Rhode Island auto insurance requirements for resident drivers? Almost every state in America requires its drivers to carry with them some kind of car insurance policy in order to legally operate their vehicles on the roads and highways.

While you might have comprehensive coverage, the driver that hits you might have a much smaller policy.

In order to be fully protected, it’s important to understand Rhode Island car insurance requirements and any policy supplements that you can also purchase. Use the free tool to compare Rhode Island auto insurance quotes today!

Rhode Island Car Insurance Policy Requirements

AdobeStock_83230289-1600x1600Government officials in Rhode Island feel that it is important to assure all drivers that if they are involved in an accident that is not their fault, they will be able to seek adequate compensation for the damages and injuries that may result.

For this reason, all Rhode Island drivers are required to carry both a liability policy and an uninsured/underinsured motorist policy.

  • Liability insurance covers damages inflicted upon the bodies of the other driver and their passengers or vehicle
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance covers the cost of repairs to your own car in the event you are hit by someone with no insurance or insufficient insurance

Minimum Policy Levels for Rhode Island Car Insurance

Thankfully, most states do not leave it up to their drivers to decide how much car insurance is sufficient to protect them while driving their cars.

In the state of Rhode Island, there are very strict minimum levels for insurance. These levels are:

  1. $25,000 to cover the medical expenses of a single driver
  2. $50,000 to cover the medical expenses of all of the car’s occupants
  3. $25,000 to pay for any property damage resulting from the accident, including damages to the victim’s car

Why do I have to buy uninsured motorist insurance in Rhode Island?

AdobeStock_85187385-1600x1600If you’re looking to keep the monthly cost of operating your car to a minimum, you might be rather disappointed to hear that the state of Rhode Island is going to require you to purchase more than one type of insurance.

To understand the reason why, it can be helpful to think about Rhode Island’s neighbors to the north and south, one of which does not require their drivers to purchase liability insurance.

If you were to be in an accident with these drivers, who are operating their vehicles legally according to the laws of their own state, you may find yourself with a rather large bill for both medical care and car repairs.

Carrying this extra coverage guarantees that you’ll get the compensation you deserve no matter where they live.

Enter your zip code to start comparing free Rhode Island car insurance quotes online!

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · Car Insurance Comparison · Terms & Conditions · About Us · Privacy Policy · Contact Us · Site Map · Resources

Currently insured?