FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Currently insured?

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

Oklahoma DUI Insurance Laws

Here's what you need to know...
  • Oklahoma has an implied consent law for DUIs
  • There are three convictions for a DUI in Oklahoma, the third conviction including an ignition interlock device
  • More than 18,000 arrests occur each year in Oklahoma where the population ranks 27th in the entire country
  • SR22 DUI insurance is not required, but it would be the first step to getting your life back since a DUI can negatively impact your future

In Oklahoma, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you have blood-alcohol content above .08 percent, you are considered to be driving while under the influence. Don’t drink and drive! A DUI will not only put you and others in danger, but it will also raise your auto insurance!

It takes only a few drinks to become intoxicated, and each drink that you consume puts you closer to the limit. Therefore, it is wise not to drive after you have been drinking. Know Oklahoma’s DUI laws before you go out!

Being aware of the laws could save you the hassle later! While you are at it, you should also compare state car insurance to save on your car insurance. Simply enter your ZIP code into the above FREE tool now!

Oklahoma DUI Laws

AdobeStock_51711988-1600x1600

Officers are not required to see the normal signs demonstrated by someone who is under the influence to pull you over for driving under the influence; they only need to show that you have blood-alcohol content about the legal limit of .08 percent.

However, you can still be charged with driving under the influence in Oklahoma, even if you have a BAC below .08 percent if officers see signs of impairment that might include:

  • Running a stop sign
  • Slurred speech
  • Weaving while driving
  • Driving on the wrong side of the road
  • Driving without headlights
  • Braking erratically

If an officer suspects you of driving under the influence, he will start taking mental notes to build a solid case against you. After he pulls you over, he will begin by asking you if you have been drinking. He will then probably ask you to take a sobriety test.

By law, you are not required to consent to a sobriety test.

However, Oklahoma has an implied consent law, which means that you are required to agree to a chemical test. The types of possible chemical tests in Oklahoma include breath, blood, saliva, and urine. Before you can be asked to submit to chemical testing, you must first be arrested.

Before asking you to submit to a chemical test, the officer will read you the Implied Consent Warning, notifying you that you have been arrested and that you have been asked to submit to a chemical test.

The Implied Consent Warning that is read to you includes:

  1. The fact that you have been arrested and the officer has reasonable grounds to believe that you have been drinking while driving.
  2. You are asked to submit to a test to determine whether your BAC is above the legal limit.
  3. The test will include a breath or blood test, and it will not cost you anything.
  4. You have the right to pay for your own additional test.
  5. You cannot talk to your attorney before taking the test.
  6. You have the right to refuse testing, but your driver’s license will automatically be revoked.
  7. If your BAC is found to be about .08 percent if you are over the age of 21 or.02 percent if you are under the age of 21, your driver’s license will be revoked.
  8. Will you consent to your state’s test?

Oklahoma DUI Penalties

AdobeStock_71346710-1600x1600

Driving under the influence is considered a misdemeanor for the first offense in Oklahoma and carries the following penalties:

  • 10 days to one year of jail time
  • Up to $1000 fine plus the court cost
  • 30 days suspension of license, but you can obtain a hardship to get to and from work

If you get a second DUI within a 10-year period of the first one, it is considered a felony. A second offense for a DUI in Oklahoma carries the following penalties:

  • One year to five years of jail time
  • Up to $2,500 fine plus the court cost
  • Six months suspension of license, but you can obtain a hardship to get to and from work

If you get a third DUI in Oklahoma, it is considered a felony no matter when your previous offenses occurred. The penalties for a third DUI in Oklahoma include:

  • One to 10 years of jail time
  • Up to $10,000 fine plus the court cost
  • One-year suspension of license, but you can obtain a hardship to get to and from work

If you have a license to operate a commercial vehicle in Oklahoma, you will be arrested if you have a BAC level of .04 percent or greater. Your CDL license will be revoked for one year after a first offense, and it will be revoked for life after a second CDL DUI arrest.

If you are under the age of 21, your license will be revoked for six months following the first DUI, and you will be fined between $100 and $500. You also must contribute 20 hours of community service.

If you are under the age of 21, your license will be revoked for a year following a second DUI, and will be fined between $100 and $1000. You also must execute 240 hours of community service.

If you are under the age of 21, your license will be revoked for three years following a third DUI, and you will be fined between $100 and $2,000. You also must give 480 hours of community service. It is also mandatory that you have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for at least 30 days.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

Oklahoma Facts

Oklahoma is situated in the southern central portion of the United States.

With over three million people, the state ranks 27th in the country in terms of population.

The capital of Oklahoma is Oklahoma City, and it is known for its cowboy and American Indian roots, southern hospitality, college sports, and Will Rogers.

There are many people in Oklahoma that drive on the roads, and driving under the influence in the state is considered a serious offense.

Oklahoma DUI Statistics

AdobeStock_49976600-1600x1600

Oklahoma averages between 200 and 300 fatalities each year as a result of driving under the influence.

There are around 300 arrests made each year in Oklahoma for individuals under the age of 18, and more than 18,000 arrests made for driving under the influence for people of all ages.

Don’t become one of the many DUI car accidents! Drive safe and be free of DUIs. After all, a DUI affects car insurance rates!

Oklahoma DUI Insurance Options

While Oklahoma does not require SR22 insurance, your license cannot be reinstated, or you cannot get a license until you prove to authorities that you have acquired an Oklahoma SR22 insurance policy. You must pay a fee to get your license reinstated. It is mandatory to carry SR22 insurance for three years.

If your DUI car insurance coverage lapses during the mandatory three-year period, your insurance carrier is required by law to report it to the Oklahoma DPS. The DPS will immediately revoke your license, and your license will not be reinstated until you re-file.

You want to find the cheapest SR22 insurance policy available; therefore, you must compare prices to find the best car insurance deals. You just need to file for SR22 insurance in Oklahoma through a car insurance company.

Not all insurance companies in Oklahoma offer SR22 insurance, so you need to make sure that you explore all options. Most companies that provide this type of Oklahoma car insurance provide free car insurance quotes.

Therefore, you should obtain quotes from several different companies to see which one offers you the best prices. You can receive a quote in just minutes.

SR22 insurance is not very common, but insurance companies are still very competitive with their pricing. If you shop around and compare prices, you can find affordable auto insurance.

A driving under the influence conviction in Oklahoma can greatly impact your future. It can affect your job opportunities, car insurance rates, and driving privileges.

If you research your options, you can get back on your feet and on with your life following a DUI conviction.

Compare DUI insurance companies to see how you can find affordable DUI insurance so that you can put this unfortunate instance behind you. Don’t forget to read our Car Insurance Guide and find all the tips to saving on car insurance!

Compare car insurance companies with our below comparison tool! Enter your ZIP code below now!

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · Car Insurance Comparison · Terms & Conditions · About Us · Privacy Policy · Contact Us · Site Map · Resources

Currently insured?