FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Currently insured?

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

Kansas Car Insurance

Here's what you should know...
  • Kansas is a no-fault state, so there are additional coverage requirements for its drivers
  • In addition to liability coverage, Kansas drivers must also carry uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance
  • Personal Injury Protection coverage (PIP) in Kansas ensures drivers in an accident will always have medical coverage, no matter who is at fault

Kansas car insurance is essential for responsible driving in the state of Kansas. The first time you buy a car, you’re likely to feel like you’ve finally achieved total freedom. Not only can a car take you anywhere you want to go, it’s available at your convenience and doesn’t require you to wait on the bus or a taxi.

Along with the freedoms of owning a car come a lot of responsibilities, however. You have to make sure you’re aware of the Kansas requirements for being a safe and legal driver.

Read this Kansas car insurance guide and then enter your ZIP code above for your free quote comparison!

Kansas Car Insurance Requirements

AdobeStock_83230289-1600x1600

Almost every state in America now requires that its drivers carry at least some sort of insurance to be able to operate their motor vehicles legally on the roads and highways.

If you get caught driving a car without the proper insurance, you could be subject to heavy fines and possibly even arrested.

To avoid these complications, it’s important for each Kansas driver to know the Kansas state liability minimums for car insurance:

  • $25,000 for medical expenses incurred by a single occupant (usually the driver)
  • $50,000 for the medical expenses of all of the other occupants of the vehicle
  • $10,000 for property repairs, including damages to public property or the victim’s vehicle

Understanding Kansas No-Fault Requirements

AdobeStock_84476170-1600x1600

Many states in the U.S. require their drivers to carry liability insurance so that if they cause an accident, the other driver will be sure to receive some compensation.

But unlike other states, Kansas operates under a no-fault policy, which means that you must carry personal injury protection insurance (PIP) so that your own medical needs can be taken care of, no matter who was deemed to be at fault for the accident.

In case you’re unfamiliar with PIP coverage in Kansas, it provides:

  • $4,500 in medical expenses
  • 1 month’s worth of lost income
  • $25/day for in-home assistance if necessary
  • $2,000 for funeral expenses
  • $4,500 in rehabilitation services
  • Some death benefits for the family (optional)

Additional Kansas Car Insurance Compensation Requirements

AdobeStock_65608045-1600x1600

You might think that with PIP insurance and liability insurance, you’re going to be a pretty well covered Kansas driver, but the requirements for car insurance don’t end there.

The state of Kansas is one of only 20 states that also require its drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

This insurance will protect you from the cost of medical bills or car repairs in the event that you are involved in an accident with someone who is carrying inadequate coverage or no coverage at all.

Enter your Kansas ZIP code in now to start comparing free KS car insurance quotes online!

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · Car Insurance Comparison · Terms & Conditions · About Us · Privacy Policy · Contact Us · Site Map · Resources

Currently insured?