FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Currently insured?

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

Florida Car Insurance Regulations

Here's what you need to know...
  • Florida is a no-fault insurance state, so keep the fact that you are responsible for your own damages even if you weren’t at fault, in your mind when considering coverage options
  • Florida requires all vehicles to have insurance coverage and the penalties for not complying are quite steep
  • Even if you live elsewhere, if you’re in Florida for 90 or more days a year, you must purchase Florida coverage

Each state mandates its own car insurance regulations or laws. Florida is no different. Florida’s laws require everyone who drives a vehicle, whether they own it or not, to maintain Florida car insurance with certain coverage and limits.

Looking for car insurance? Get FREE quotes now by entering your ZIP code in the tool box at the top of this page!

Keep reading for information on Florida car insurance regulations and what you need to know as a driver in Florida.

You’ll Need to Purchase Florida Coverage

AdobeStock_107861306-1600x1600

Florida coverage is mandated for any individuals driving for a total of at least ninety days in the state of Florida. This must be insurance provided by an agency authorized to underwrite insurance in the state of Florida.

The following circumstances all require continued Florida insurance coverage:

  • If you no longer live in the state of Florida but maintain a vehicle with Florida plates and registration, you are required to continue Florida coverage on the vehicle. This also applies to individuals who leave their vehicle in Florida and live elsewhere for part of the year.
  • If the vehicle no longer runs, but you plan on keeping the vehicle, you must continue coverage on the vehicle.
  • If you do not own a vehicle but are employed as a driver, you must still obtain Florida coverage. The law requires the driver to carry bodily injury liability coverage for $125,000 for each person and $250,000 for each occurrence. In addition to bodily injury liability, the driver is also required to carry $50,000 in property damage liability.

The state of Florida can mandate that you obtain additional insurance like bodily injury liability if you have been in an excessive amount of accidents or have been convicted of certain offenses.

Florida’s No-Fault Law

Florida is considered to be a no-fault state. This simply means that your insurance company will pay your expenses whether an accident was your fault or not.

The Minimum Required Coverage in Florida

just a little

Florida requires all drivers to maintain $10,000 of personal injury protection and $10,000 of property damage liability.

Personal injury protection covers you against injuries incurred with a motor vehicle, while property damage liability covers damages to the vehicle involved in the accident.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

Currently insured?

Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Coverage Is Not a Requirement

The state of Florida does not require drivers to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. However, the state of Florida does require insurance agencies to offer the coverage.

If you choose against adding uninsured or underinsured coverage to your policy, the insurance company is required to send documentation of refusal to the Florida Department of Insurance.

The Insurance Requirements on Leased Vehicles

AdobeStock_62445878-1600x1600

The state of Florida requires additional coverage on leased vehicles.

If you are leasing a vehicle, you must obtain one of the following types of coverage: bodily injury liability of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, and $50,000 of property damage liability.

The second option is a combined amount of coverage for bodily injury liability and property damage liability for $500,000.

Rental Car Insurance Is Required

A sales agent holding a sign that reads

Florida law requires that an individual renting a car must acquire rental car insurance. If your policy or credit card company does not offer a rental car insurance rider, you must obtain insurance through the rental car company.

Proof of rental car insurance, whether it is administered by the rental car company, your credit card company, or your personal insurance carrier, must be accessible at all times.

The reason the policy must be handy is for your protection should you get in an accident or be pulled over by law enforcement.

What Happens If You Fail to Maintain Car Insurance

Should you fail to maintain or obtain Florida coverage, your license and registration can be suspended for up to three years. You may also be issued a ticket violation and be summoned to court.

In addition to these fees, you must pay to have your license reinstated, which could cost you up to $500.

Temporary or hardship licenses are not issued in the case of losing your license because you failed to maintain Florida coverage. Your license will continue to be suspended until proof of insurance is provided. Then the license may be reinstated.

If you choose not to insure your vehicle, the best thing to do is turn in your tag and registration to a Florida tax collector’s office or Florida driver’s license office.

Out-of-State Coverage

AdobeStock_38265810-1600x1600

Once you move out of Florida you can purchase insurance in your new state. However, you should not cancel your Florida coverage until the new policy has gone into effect.

Florida is very serious about its car insurance regulations. Don’t be caught without automobile insurance.

Compare car insurance rates now by typing your ZIP code into the FREE rate tool at the bottom of the page!

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · Car Insurance Comparison · Terms & Conditions · About Us · Privacy Policy · Contact Us · Site Map · Resources

Currently insured?